Darkest Era_Gods and OriginsDarkest Era came out of left field in 2014 with a righteous album that stormed my playlists and ultimately became my Album o’ the Year. Their blend of Celtic folk, black and epic metal left me highly impressed and wanting much more. While another full-length is a ways off, they’re dropping a two-song limited edition vinyl EP titled Gods and Origins to celebrate the ten year anniversary of guitarists Ade Mulgrew and Sarah Wieghell playing together.

In honor of the occasion they took one of the first songs the pair ever wrote together (“An Daga”) and reworked it to fit the band’s current style. It’s a rousing little ditty too, full of galloping old school metal spirit like Argus or Visigoth. It’s straight-forward and uncomplicated but definitely has that fist-in-the-air charm old timers like myself crave, and Krum’s vocals inject just enough Primordial influence to give it added credibility. It isn’t on par with the stunningly epic numbers on Severance, but it’s quite enjoyable nonetheless.

“Elohim” is a stripped down folksy ballad with acoustic guitars and a soulful performance from Krum. It’s similar to the works of Falkenbach and Primordial but more accessible. Moody and mellow, it’s less mighty and rabble rousing than their usual fare but still solid.

Darkest Era_2015

Since this is intended primarily as a vinyl release, they made sure it sounded great. The mix is good and everything sounds full and clear without being too clean.

With only two songs and a run-time under eight minutes, there isn’t much to sink the metal incisors of i-ruhn into, so an actual rating is pointless. As a teaser for more Darkest Era material however, this does exactly what it’s supposed to – I’m now even more annoyingly anxious to get another album from these folks. If you haven’t yet heard this band, stop screwing around and check them out toot sweet! I’m looking forward to great things in the future.

Rating: Too short to report
DR: 9  |  Format Reviewed: 320 kbps mp3
Label: Cruz Del Sur
Websites: darkestera.net  |  facebook.com/darkestera
Releases Worldwide: November 20th, 2015

Share →
  • Yeah, it was a happy little surprise to see this in my inbox. What say you… RotY for 2015?!

    • That might be a bit extravagant.

    • Theres still time for Ne Obliviscaris to come out with something that’ll be RotY 2015.

    • Martin Knap

      That’s cool, as long as you don’t announce it in August 2016.

  • Monsterth Goatom

    Love, love, love Severance. Can’t wait for a new for a new one to drop. This will have to do for now. Witherscape did something somewhat similar with The New Tomorrow last year — something for fans to nibble on while they wait for the main course. But me so hungry.

  • Kmill

    Severance was def one of my favorite albums of the year. I just love that they don’t really fit into a specific genre and have their own unique thing going on.

  • André Snyde Lopes


  • Carlos Marrickvillian

    Its a good old fashioned single!
    I wish bands would do this more often. Keeping fans happy with a steady stream of new material is a really good idea. I’d much rather my favourite bands were putting out a smaller tighter 30-40 m albums every year with teaser eps or singles in between. Than the alternative of waiting for a big 60-80 min albums every 3 or four years.

  • AlphaBetaFoxface

    I feel betrayed. I actually had to read the review because there was no rating.

    What do you take me for, a nerd? *loosens suspenders in threatening fashion*

  • That’s a pretty big sphere the guy who mysteriously lost his shirt but somehow kept his hood is holding.

    • André Snyde Lopes

      How the mighty has fallen… The once omnipresent sphere is now relegated to an 8 minute promo…

  • Twas a nice surprise indeed. Something about these guys and Primordial in particular take me back to grandmother’s house in Dun Laoghaire, having a weekend fry-up.

  • Greg Hasbrouck

    Agreed on the previous album; it was brilliant. Can’t wait to hear what they do next.

  • sir_c

    still not as good as their next album though :-)