Angry Metal Primer – 1349

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So each week (as required and/or able), we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

“Through the years of auditory representation that is 1349, I’ve come to realize experimenting with one’s signature sound is nothing new. Especially in black metal. This might sound like a naive observation for someone who’s listened to metal as long as I have. But, I only make it because 1349 has received a shitload of criticism for their musical directions. Musical directions and experimentation as twisted as those of Bathory, Darkthrone, Enslaved, and Satyricon, might I add. All these bands have toyed with their sound from the beginning. Sometimes tweaking their style with each new album (Enslaved and Satyricon), sometimes in large batches (Darkthrone), or sometimes in pairs/trilogies (Bathory). In many ways, 1349 is no different than Bathory. Debuting with a trilogy of LPs, they redefined the classic black metal sound into an anti-religious hurricane that never subsides. Then they T-boned everyone with Revelations of the Black Flame and Demonoir. Those listeners that are open to the dark ambiance and odd effects of Thorns, combined with the droning, mid-paced approach of latter-day Satyricon, understood these two albums. The rest of the fan base felt confused and disappointed. But, no matter how hard one wishes, 1349 is well-Beyond the Apocalypse. Instead of going in reverse, the band continues to move forward with their creative endeavors. In particular, picking up where they left off with Demonoir. The “Tunnel of Set” is a dark place but is The Infernal Pathway an even darker road?”

Dr. A.N. Grier

  • Liberation, 2003
    – “I Breathe Spears”
    – “Legion”
  • Beyond the Apocalypse, 2004
    – “Singer of Strange Songs”
    – “Internal Winter”
  • Hellfire, 2005
    – “I Am Abomination”
    – “Hellfire”
  • Revelations of the Black Flame, 2009
    – “Invocation”
    – “Uncreation”
  • Demonoir, 2010
    – “The Devil of the Deserts”
    – Every “Tunnel of Set” piece uninterrupted
  • Massive Cauldron of Chaos, 2014
    – “Slaves”
    – “Godslayer”

1349’s seventh album The Infernal Pathway will be released on October 18th worldwide via Season of Mist.

We’re all about equality at AMG Inc. Our legal department says we have to be, and it keeps the bowels of this place running smoothly. One person gets a playlist, then everyone wants a one, and soon there’s blood in the water cooler. So have it your way, animals. Everyone gets a playlist. An oh so brief playlist. Trust me, it’s for the best.

Today’s chapter: Little Drummer Boy

  • Dr. Wvrm
    Ulcerate – “Vermis”
    Strapping Young Lad – “Skesis”
  • Sentynel
    Three Trapped Tigers – “Reset”
  • Grymm
    Corrosion of Conformity – “Damned for All Time”
    Today Is the Day – “The Man Who Loves to Hurt Himself”
    Zao – “A Last Time for Everything”
  • Mark Z.
    Arsis – “Overthrown”
    Infernal War – “Spill the Dirty Blood of Jesus”
  • Diabolus in Muzaka
    Slayer – “Epidemic”
    Dimmu Borgir – “The Chosen Legacy”
    1349 – “Sculptor of Flesh”
  • L. Saunders
    Dying Fetus – “Praise the Lord (Opium of the Masses)”
    Mastodon – “Crusher Destroyer”
  • Huck N Roll
    Adrift – “The Call”
    Inter Arma – “The Atavist’s Meridian”
  • TheKenWord
    Unfathomable Ruination – “Nihilistic Theorem”
    Dialith – “Where Fire Dwells”
  • Dear Hollow
    Oh, Sleeper – “World Without a Sun”
    Archspire – “Involuntary Doppelgänger”
  • Holdeneye
    Miseration – “Thrones”
    Tourniquet – “Besprinkled in Scarlet Horror”
    Gomorrah – “The Blade Itself”
  • Carcharodon
    Meshuggah – “Bleed”
    Tool – “Ticks & Leeches”

« »