Angry Metal Primer – Defeated Sanity

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So whenever the fancy strikes us, we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

Defeated Sanity have found their own unique mixture of the cerebral and the feral, which has propelled them headlong into the hearts, minds, and collections of many a death metal fan. No matter how complex their music gets, Defeated Sanity never loses sight of the fact that they play brutal death metal. They can play circles around 99% of their peers, but their slams rival Devourment’s. Theirs is a sharp blade, but a rusty, serrated one—and they like it that way. The sacrifice of some clarity for more brutality in guitar tone coupled with intricate compositions and virtuoso performances (often at ludicrous speed) make each track sound initially like an impenetrable maelstrom, but those who became fans got hooked by something in there and decided to keep putting in the effort to hear what’s happening amidst the cacophony. It’s an acquired taste, but that’s why they’re a veritable death metal institution. Those of us who love Defeated Sanity put in the time and effort necessary to do so and became attached to their music during the process. I’ve tried below to put together a list of Defeated Sanity songs with “bigger” moments, to easier guide the new listener towards the paths of least resistance into the band’s oeuvre. There’s no substitute to just listening to the records, but I hope for those of you unfamiliar with Defeated Sanity this list piques your interest in them.”

Diabolus in Muzaka

  • Prelude to the Tragedy (2004)
    – “The Parasite”
    – “Horrid Decomposition”
    – “Apocalypse of Filth / Collapsing Human Failures”
  • Psalms of the Moribund (2007)
    – “Fatal Self-Inflicted Disfigurement”
    – “Hideously Disembodied”
    – “Psalms of the Moribund”
  • Chapters of Repugnance (2010)
    – “Carnal Deliverance”
    – “Engulfed in Excruciation”
    – “Coerced into Idolatry”
  • Passages into Deformity (2013)
    – “Verblendung”
    – “The Purging”
    – “Perspectives”
  • Disposal of the Dead // Dharmata (2016)
    – “Generosity of the Deceased”
    – “The Bell”
    – “Return to Samsara”

Defeated Sanity‘s sixth album The Sanguinary Impetus will be released on July 24th worldwide via Willowtip Records.

« »