Angry Metal Primer – Finntroll

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So whenever the fancy strikes us, we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

“All is quiet in the swamp… too quiet. It’s been seven long years since Finntroll’s previously punctual muck-mill last powered the Finns’ deranged night circus. Their bombastic black-folk has only grown stranger as the years have gone by. I, for one, welcome it — the world has enough dour and sour black metal but not nearly enough spooktastic folk; the weirder the ‘troll, the happier I’ll be. Advance tracks off the forthcoming Vredesvävd certainly haven’t suggested a drop in quality, but where’s the strange? I’ll be damned if we don’t get more swamp polka. For now though, why not enjoy a nice mud bath with the best that Finntroll has to offer. Happy hammaren!

Please note that Midnattens widunder’s tracks were only available on the live record Natten med de levande Finntroll. It was that or nothing.”

Dr. Wvrm


  • Midnattens widunder (1999)
    – “Rivfader”
    – “Midnattens Widunder”
  • Jaktens Tid (2001)
    – “Födosagan”
    – “Jaktens tid”
    – “VargTimmen”
  • Nattfödd (2004)
    – “Eliytres”
    – “Fiskarens fiende”
    – “Trollhammaren”
    – “Ursvamp”
  • Ur jordens djup (2007)
    – “Ur djupet”
    – “En mäktig här”
    – “Ormhäxan”
    – “Maktens spira”
  • Nifelvind (2010)
    – “Solsagan”
    – “Galgasång”
    – “Under bergets rot”
  • Blodsvept (2013)
    – “Ett folk förbannat”
    – “Mordminnen”
    – “Skogsdotter”
  • Vredesvävd (2020)
    – “Forsen”
    – “Mask”

Finntroll’s seventh album Vredesvävd will be released on September 18th worldwide via Century Media Records.

« »