Angry Metal Primer – Manticora

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So whenever the fancy strikes us, we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

Manticora is a band that has lived with me for so long that I have to remind myself they’re not exactly a household name. With over 20 years of experience and eight albums behind them, it’s a wonder that their darkened, thrashing take on power metal has failed to reach more ears. Admittedly, the unconventional vocals of Lars Larsen may be partially to blame, but I’ve become so acclimated to his style that I can’t imagine a version of Manticora without his talents. But if you’re reading this, you probably haven’t had two decades to warm up to the band’s charms. You want the best of the best, and with the release of their ninth (and very possibly best) record To Live to Kill to Live coming up on August 28th, you need it fast. Strap in for a blast of the most satisfyingly neck-breaking power metal riffage you will ever hear.

Please note that the embedded Spotify playlist does not include either Roots of Eternity or The Black Circus Part 2 – Disclosure, as these albums are not on Spotify in my region. Songs from The Black Circus Part 2 are also not included in the list below, as the album is curiously difficult to track down these days, and I can’t rely on my memory to pick a selection of the best songs.”

Eldritch Elitist

  • Roots of Eternity (1999)
    – “Intoxicated”
    – “The Saga of the Exiles (Part One: Nowhere Land)”
    – “Roots of Eternity”
  • Darkness with Tales to Tell (2001)
    – “The Chance of Dying in a Dream”
    – “Dragon’s Mist”
    – “Lost Souls”
  • Hyperion (2002)
    – “Filaments of Armageddon”
    – “A Long Farewell”
    – “Loveternaloveternal”
  • 8 Deadly Sins (2004)
    – “1944. Playing God [Hatred]”
    – “1946. Melancholic [Betrayal]”
    – “1981. Fall from Grace [Ignorance]”
  • The Black Circus Part 1 – Letters (2006)
    – “Enchanted Mind”
    – “Forever Carousel”
    – “Disciples of the Entities”
  • Safe (2010)
    – “Silence the Freedom”
    – “Complete”
    – “Safe”
  • To Kill to Live to Kill (2018)
    – “Echoes of a Silent Scream”
    – “The Farmer’s Tale Pt. 1 – The Aftermath of Indifference”
    – “The Farmer’s Tale Pt. 2 – Annihilation at the Graves”

Manticora‘s ninth album To Live to Kill to Live will be released on August 28th worldwide via ViciSolum Productions.

« »