Angry Metal Primer – The Black Dahlia Murder

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So each week (as required and/or able), we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

“Calling The Black Dahlia Murder an institution seems stranger than it ought to, but here we are. Constant tours, copious interviews and podcasts, and vocalist Trevor Strnad guest-spotting on releases from every one of your favorite slam bands, they’re everywhere. And between all that, they occasionally release an album or two. In fact, the forthcoming Verminous is the ninth album in a catalog growing ever larger and more diverse. Never has that been more apparent to me (co-playlist author Angry Metal Guy will probably scoff at this) than when trying to slap together a list that fully grapples with each stage of The Black Dahlia Murder. From their raw, they’re-metalcore-no-you’re-metalcore days to their starmaker revitalization of 90s Swe(melo)death to the complex ups and downs of later-period material, there’s a shit ton to digest. Who could ask for more from a band that’s never put out a bad album?”

Dr. Wvrm

  • Unhallowed (2003)
    – “Elder Misanthropy”
    – “Closed Casket Requiem”
  • Miasma (2005)
    – “Statutory Ape”
    – “Miasma”
  • Nocturnal (2007)
    – “What a Horrible Night to Have a Curse”
    – “I Worship Only What You Bleed”
    – “Deathmask Divine
    – “Warborn”
  • Deflorate (2009)
    – “Black Valor”
    – “Christ Deformed”
    – “I Will Return”
  • Ritual (2011)
    – “Moonlight Equilibrium”
    – “Carbonized in Cruciform”
    – “The Grave Robber’s Work”
    – “Blood in the Ink”
  • Everblack (2013)
    – “Raped in Hatred by Vines of Thorn”
    – “Phantom Limb Masturbation”
  • Abysmal (2015)
    – “Vlad, Son of the Dragon”
    – “Abysmal”
  • Nightbringers (2017)
    – “Matriarch”
    – “Jars”
    – “Kings of the Nightworld”
    – “The Lonely Deceased”
  • Verminous (2020)
    – “Child of Night”

The Black Dahlia Murder’s ninth album Verminous will be released on April 17th worldwide via Metal Blade.

« »