Amorphis Release New Album Info!

So, I normally don’t sink to just being a cog in the promotional machine, but today I am just a cog in the promotional machine because Amorphis is releasing a new record in June called The Beginning of Times which will probably stop time and make me die of Angry Metal Pleasure! You may not know this, but I’m a huge Amorphis fanboy, as is Steel Druhm, so I suspect that this website will be laden with blatant fanboyism leading up to this. Hopefully it’ll be the album of the month and I’ll have interviews and if not exclusive info (they’re way too big and cool for me), at least accurate and up-to-date information. All Amorphis all the time? Not quite, but nearly?

In honour of Kalevala Day, we are proud to announce the title and artwork of the upcoming Amorphis album. The Beginning Of Times will be released at the end of May, preceded by the single “You I Need” in April. The tracklist is as follows:

1. Battle For Light
2. Mermaid
3. My Enemy
4. You I Need
5. Song of the Sage
6. Three Words
7. Reformation
8. Soothsayer
9. On a Stranded Shore
10. Escape
11. Crack in a Stone
12. Beginning of Time
(digipack bonus) 13. Heart’s Song

The new album is the most challenging Amorphis album so far in terms of both music and lyrics. Its central character is the iconic hero of Finnish mythology, Väinämöinen, whose tale has been masterfully retold by lyricist Pekka Kainulainen. The Beginning Of Times was produced by the band; vocals were recorded under the guidance of Marco Hietala in his home studio in Kuopio. Like its predecessors, the album was mixed by Mikko Karmila. Its cover artwork shows Travis Smith’s magnificent interpretation of the mythological birth of the world from a goldeney’s egg.

In June, Amorphis will embark on the extensive The Beginning Of Times tour, which is scheduled to continue through 2012.


Amorphis - The Beginning of Times

« »