Turisas Release New Song “For Your Own Good”

Turisas2013You’re probably aware that I don’t “do” news over here at AMG. News is a never-ending cycle of press releases and free advertising for labels that don’t give me nearly enough shit to justify it. But, as I am a big fan of Turisas, I thought this was of some interest. As you’re all probably aware, Turisas will be releasing their next record in 2013 with the absolutely shitty title of Turisas2013. This is not only the stupidest name for a record ever, but it’s also probably the most uncreative thing I’ve ever seen in my entire life. “How fucking lazy are these guys?” I wondered angrily, “do they take us for fools?” When they released the name on their official Facebook page, some manly and charming fellow even wrote “Please tell me that “Turisas2013” is not the name of this record,” which has since garnered 117 likes and is the top comment on that post. Still, I’m a big fan, and I’ve yet to dislike a Turisas record, so I figure it deserves a chance.

Today they released the first track from this forthcoming album and it’s called “For Your Own Good.” I leave it here without comment, but I’m definitely curious on your responses. It’s not like anything I’ve heard from the band, but it’s recognizably Turisas at the same time. The fans on YouTube have given it 90 upvotes and 30 downvotes, which is about the largest percentage of negativity I’ve seen to a single in a long time. Turisas 2013Fully one quarter of fans think this song sucks. Is 2013 going to drop another giant from my list of bands that consistently put out great albums? This song, as well as a song entitled “No Good Story Ever Starts with Drinking Tea” imply that this is a possibility.

Turisas2013 is scheduled for a release date of August 26th in Europe, September 2nd in the UK and 3rd in the US. The track listing is as follows:

1. For Your Own Good
2. Ten More Miles
3. Piece by Piece
4. Into the Free
5. Run Bhang-Eater, Run!
6. Greek Fire
7. The Days Passed
8. No Good Story Ever Starts with Drinking Tea
9. We Ride Together

« »