Angry Metal Primer – Ensiferum

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So whenever the fancy strikes us, we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

“I’ve had a throbbing soft spot for Ensiferum since about the moment I climbed out of the primordial ooze of the Big Four. Victory Songs was one of the first metal CDs I bought, and it was all downhill from there. Though the Finns may be most well-known as Jari Mäenpää’s stepping stool into the sauna, it was only after his departure following their first two albums that Ensiferum really blossomed. 2009’s From Afar introduced an intrepid side of the band, one willing to play with more than campfire sing-alongs and big-time bangers, and Ensiferum have only grown since then. It hasn’t been an easy road, but modern Ensiferum is a more diverse and well-rounded beast than I could have imagined sacrificing brain cells to “Deathbringer from the Sky” all those years ago. With the band’s eighth album, Thalassic, releasing this week—spoiler: it’s pretty good—there’s never been a better time to acquaint yourself with some of the finest folks to ever do it.”

Dr. Ensiferwvrm

  • Ensiferum (2001)
    – “Hero in a Dream”
    – “Token of Time”
    – “Treacherous Gods”
    – “Battle Song”
  • Iron (2004)
    – “Tale of Revenge”
    – “Slayer of Light”
    – “LAI LAI HEI”
  • Victory Songs (2007)
    – “Deathbringer from the Sky”
    – “Ahti”
    – “One More Magic Potion”
  • From Afar (2009)
    – “From Afar”
    – “Twilight Tavern”
    – “Heathen Throne”
    – “Stone Cold Metal”
  • Unsung Heroes (2012)
    – “In My Sword I Trust”
    – “Burning Leaves”
  • One Man Army (2015)
    – “One Man Army”
    – “Two of Spades”
  • Two Paths (2017)
    – “For Those About to Fight for Metal”
    – “Feast with Valkyries”
  • Thalassic (2020)
    – “Rum, Women, Victory”
    – “Andromeda”

Ensiferum‘s eighth album Thalassic will be released on July 10th worldwide via Metal Blade Records.

« »