Angry Metal Primer – Lamb of God

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So each week (as required and/or able), we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…



“I have a soft spot for modern metal heavyweights Lamb of God, dating back to their 2000 debut, New American Gospel. That album put the band on the map following their change in moniker from Burn the Priest. During my exploration of more extreme metal waters at the time, Lamb of God were a new act that grabbed my attention with a fresh and exciting sound. And I considered myself an avid fan of Lamb of God across their first four albums.

However, the band’s output post-Sacrament has been patchy, struggling to gain my enthusiasm in ways their early material did effortlessly. Still, I admire the band’s perseverance through hardships, and even when not firing on all cylinders, each album delivers some noteworthy gems in their signature groove metal style. Lamb of God do not bow to trends and remain an uncompromising force in an often bland and pop-infected mainstream metal landscape. With their long-awaited eighth album in the can and set for release on June 19th, it is time to backtrack across 20 years of blood, sweat, and tears.”

L. Saunders

  • New American Gospel (2000)
    – “Black Label”
    – “Letter to the Unborn”
    – “Terror and Hubris in the House of Frank Pollard”
  • As the Palaces Burn (2003)
    – “Ruin”
    – “As the Palaces Burn”
    – “A Devil in God’s Country”
    – “Vigil”
  • Ashes of the Wake (2004)
    – “Now You’ve Got Something to Die For”
    – “Blood of the Scribe”
    – “What I’ve Become”
  • Sacrament (2006)
    – “Again We Rise”
    – “Blacken the Cursed Sun”
    – “Forgotten (Lost Angels)”
  • Wrath (2009)
    – “Broken Hands”
    – “Choke Sermon”
  • Resolution (2012)
    – “Cheated”
    – “To the End”
  • VII: Sturm und Drang (2015)
    – “Erase This”
    – “Anthropoid”

Lamb of God’s eighth album Lamb of God will be released on June 19th worldwide via Nuclear Blast.

« »