Angry Metal Primer – Mayhem and Galneryus

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So each week (as required and/or able), we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

Mayhem is my favorite black metal band and I’ve only recently figured out why: each of their records has something about it that I’ve had to acquire a taste for. It took a conscious effort to get into Mayhem’s catalog record by record, quite unlike when you like a record on first spin. Coming back repeatedly, trying to figure out what part the meddlesome aspect hampering my enjoyment played in the artistic expression of each record⁠—this led me to focus first on what I appreciated already, and then acquire the taste for the one outlier element. This mode of listening is sadly an anachronism now, as streaming and downloads mean a listener can simply put on another record when the current one is too challenging. But it was in acquiring the taste for Mayhem that I came to understand the care, attention, and craftsmanship inherent in their records, which are uniformly albums in the truest sense⁠—a coherent artistic expression and not a collection of disparate, unrelated songs. If the music of Mayhem hasn’t captivated you yet, or if you’ve given them some listens before and don’t get it, keep pressing on; it’s well worth it.”

Diabolus in Muzaka

  • Deathcrush EP, 1987
    – “Silvester Anfang”
    – “Deathcrush”
  • Live in Leipzig, 19931
    – “The Freezing Moon”
    – “Carnage”
    – “Buried by Time and Dust”
  • De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas, 1994
    – “Funeral Fog”
    – “Life Eternal”
    – “De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas”
  • Wolf’s Lair Abyss EP, 1997
    – “Ancient Skin”
    – “Symbols of Bloodswords”
  • Grand Declaration of War, 2000
    – “A Grand Declaration of War”
    – “A Time to Die”
    – “A Bloodsword and a Colder Sun (Part II of II)”
  • Chimera, 2004
    – “My Death”
    – “Slaughter of Dreams”
    – “Chimera”
  • Ordo ad Chao, 2007
    – “Wall of Water”
    – “Illuminate Eliminate”
    – “Anti”
  • Esoteric Warfare, 2014
    – “Watchers”
    – “Trinity”
    – “Corpse of Care”

Mayhem’s sixth album Daemon will be released on November 8th worldwide via Century Media.

Adrenaline starts to flow! Thrashing all around! Acting like a maniac!

“I love Galneryus. I worship their lightspeed brand of power metal, interlaced with shots of prog and hard rock. I adore their—let’s call it creative—usage of the English language. And I’m very excited to have a chance to share this band with a wider audience ahead of my review of their twelfth(!) record, Into the Purgatory. This staple of the Japanese power metal scene has never quite taken off in Western markets, likely due in no small part to the fact that their physical merch is prohibitively expensive to import overseas. Thankfully, Spotify has pretty much all of their music available for streaming, meaning that the full discography of my all time favorite power metal band is always close at hand. Narrowing the Galneryus catalog down to three tracks per album was an excruciating process, but I’m confident that I’ve curated a diverse balance of the very best material the band has ever put to tape. With eleven full albums (plus an advance single from the upcoming record) to cover, you’d better get comfy.”

Eldritch Elitist

  • The Flag of Punishment, 2003
    – “Struggle for the Freedom Flag”
    – “In the Delight”
    – “Final Resolution”
  • Advance to the Fall, 2005
    – “Silent Revelation”
    – “Dream Place”
    – “The Scenery”
  • Beyond the End of Despair…, 2006
    – “Shiver”
    – “Vanishing Hope”
    – “Braving Flag”
  • One for All – All for One, 2011
    – “New Legend”
    – “Everlasting”
    – “Sign of Revolution”
  • Reincarnation, 2008
    – “終わりなき、この詩”
    – “Against the Domination”
    – “Stardust”
  • Resurrection, 2010
    – “Burn My Heart”
    – “Still Loving You”
    – “Destiny”
  • Phoenix Rising, 2011
    – “Scars”
    – “T.F.F.B.”
    – “Bash Out!”
  • Hunting for Your Dream EP, 2012
    – “Departure!”
  • Angel of Salvation, 2012
    – “The Promised Flag”
    – “Hunting for Your Dream”
    – “Angel of Salvation”
  • Vetelgyus, 2014
    – “Endless Story”
    – “Enemy to Injustice”
    – “Secret Love”
  • Under the Force of Courage, 2015
    – “Raise My Sword”
    – “Soul of the Field”
    – “The Force of Courage”
  • Ultimate Sacrifice, 2017
    – “Heavenly Punishment”
    – “Wings of Justice”
    – “Wherever You Are”
  • Into the Purgatory, 2019
    – “The Followers”

Galneryus’ twelfth album Into the Purgatory will be released on October 23rd worldwide via Warner Music Japan.

We’re all about equality at AMG Inc. Our legal department says we have to be, and it keeps the bowels of this place running smoothly. One person gets a playlist, then everyone wants a one, and soon there’s blood in the water cooler. So have it your way, animals. Everyone gets a playlist. An oh so brief playlist. Trust me, it’s for the best.

  • Steel Druhm
    Unleashed – “Midvinterblut”
    Nuclear Assault – “Sin”
  • Dr. Wvrm
    Xoth – “Plague Revival”
    Insomnium – “Valediction”
  • Grymm
    Carcass – “Blind Bleeding the Blind”
    Lacuna Coil – “The Ghost Woman & the Hunter”
  • Kronos
    Heathen Beast – “If the Army Can Do It, So Can You”
    Malconstruct – “Nycthemeron”
  • El Cuervo
    Wilderun – “Far from Where Dreams Unfurl”
    Mitch Murder – “Prism”
  • Mark Z.
    Counterparts – “Wings of Nightmares”
    Hopesfall – “Head General Hospital”
  • L. Saunders
    The Drones – “The Minotaur”
    In Solitude – “Lavender”
  • Huck N Roll
    Public Image Ltd – “Fishing”
    Cream – “Blue Condition”
  • Master of Muppets
    Varaha – “Severance”
    October Tide – “Of Wounds to Come”
  • TheKenWord
    Cyborg Octopus – “Divine Right (in D Minor)”
    Alkaloid – “Kernel Panic”
  • Dear Hollow
    Swamp Witch – “Catacomb Saint”
    Ov Lustra – “The Ritual”
  • Holdeneye
    Slayer – “Disciple”
    Lucretia My Reflection – “Warrel Dane”
  • Carcharodon
    Mistur – “The Sight”
    Ephel Duath – “The Passage (Pearl Grey)”
  • Emya
    Linda Perhacs – “The Soul of All Natural Things”
    Junius – “Beyond the Pale Society”

Show 1 footnote

  1. While normally live records don’t make the cut for AMG lists, Live in Leipzig is crucial for any Mayhem primer because it’s the best recording of Per Yngve “Dead” Ohlin’s vocals available.
« »