Angry Metal Primer – Rogga Johansson

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums too many Rogga Johansson releases to count just to get caught up for a new release. So each week (as required and/or able), we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

”It’s impossibly difficult to summarize a man who defines the word prolific. Rogga Johansson is a legend of extreme metal, a term that is often grossly misused. But how else would you describe someone so dedicated to the promulgation of a single sound? All things HM2 bow before the mighty Rogg. This primer isn’t an attempt to parse the 50-plus releases to his credit. Rather, it is an introduction and/or celebration of the sub-genres that his career spans. Stockholm and Gothenburg, Finnish brutality and even crushing death doom are all represented here, along with some enviable guest spots. As we await the release of his latest opus Entrance to the Otherwhere on July 19th,1 I encourage you to submit to this gargantuan playlist. Close your eyes and conjure D-beats in the deep. A shadow moves in the dark and a BalRogg rises…”

Ferrous Beuller

  • Ribspreader
    Bolted to the Cross, 2004
    – “Dead Forever”
    Meathymns, 2014
    – “As the Blood Flows”
  • Paganizer
    No Divine Rapture, 2004
    – “On Your Knees”
  • Bonegnawer
    Feast of Flesh, 2009
    – “Defleshed and Skinned”
  • The 11th Hour
    Burden of Grief, 2009
    – “Weep For Me”
  • Demiurg
    Slakthus Gamleby, 2010
    – “From Laughter to Retching”
    – “Cold Skin”
  • Putrevore
    Macabre Kingdom, 2012
    – “Beyond Human Comprehension”
    – “The Tentacles Through Time”
  • Humanity Delete
    Never Ending Nightmares, 2012
    – “Dismal Corridors”
  • Megascavenger
    At the Plateaus of Leng, 2014
    – “The Mucus Man”
    Boneyard Symphonies, 2019
    – “Bone and Meat Machine”
  • Skeletal Spectre
    Voodoo Dawn, 2013
    – “Voodoo Dawn”
  • Those Who Bring the Torture
    Piling Up, 2014
    – “A Dead Cold Space”
  • The Grotesquery
    Curse of the Skinless Bride, 2015
    – “This Is the End”
    The Lupine Anathema, 2018
    – “By Feral Ways”
  • Severed Limbs
    Collector of Limbs, 2016
    – “League of the Rotting”
  • Minotaur Head
    Minotaur Head, 2016
    – “A Monument to Humanity”
    – “Only Lands for the Slaughter”
  • Bloodgut
    Nekrologikum Evangelikum Pt. II: Furnace World, 2017
    – “Slothful Crawl of the Undead”
  • Rogga Johansson
    Garpedans, 2017
    – “At Mountain Garpe”
    – “Garpedans”
  • Stass
    The Darkside, 2017
    – “Warriors Land”
  • Revolting
    Monolith of Madness, 2018
    – “Cadaver Patrol”
  • Down Among the Dead Men
    …and You Will Obey Me, 2018
    – “…and You Will Obey Me”

Rogga Johansson’s 2nd solo album Entrance to the Otherwhere will be released July 19th worldwide via Transcending Obscurity Records.

We’re all about equality at AMG Inc. Our legal department says we have to be, and it keeps the bowels of this place running smoothly. One person gets a playlist, then everyone wants a one, and soon there’s blood in the water cooler. So have it your way, animals. Everyone gets a playlist. An oh so brief playlist. Trust me, it’s for the best.

  • Steel Druhm
    Lake of Tears – “Black Brick Road”
    Fall of the Leafe – “In the Silence of the Sand”
  • Dr. A.N.Grier
    Dark Tranquillity – “Monochromatic Stains”
    Mercenary – “World Hate Center”
  • Dr. Wvrm
    Equilibrium – “Blut im Auge”
    State Champs – “Hard to Please”
  • Sentynel
    Jess and the Ancient Ones – “Ghost Riders”
    God Is an Astronaut – “Vetus Memoria”
  • Grymm
    Otoboke Beaver – “Don’t Light My Fire”
    Blut Aus Nord – “Epitome VI”
  • Kronos
    Hurt – “House Carpenter”
    Helicase – “Of Discourse”
  • El Cuervo
    Seer – “Children of the Dying Light”
    Marillion – “The Sky Above the Rain”
  • Mark Z.
    Impiety – “Terror – Death – Worship!”
    Insulter – “Destroy All Holiness”
  • L. Saunders
    Memory Driven – “Group Departure”
    Giant Squid – “Sixty Foot Waves”
  • Huck N Roll
    Swans – “When Will I Return”
    Scott Walker – “Corps de Blah”
  • Eldritch Elitist
    ShadowStrike – “Gales of Winter”
    Bolt Thrower – “…For Victory”
  • Ferrous Beuller
    Monstrosity – “Perpetual War”
    Benighted – “Lethal Merycism”
  • GardensTale
    Antimatter – “Leaving Eden”
    That Handsome Devil – “Charlie’s Inferno”
  • Master of Muppets
    French Montana – “No Stylist”
    Purity Ring – “Fineshrine”
  • TheKenWord
    Igorr – “Opus Brain”
    Gazpacho – “The Wizard of Altai Mountains”
  • Cherd
    Potion – “Women of the Wand”
    Earth – “Engine of Ruin”
  • Holdeneye
    Turilli/Leone Rhapsody – “Decoding the Multiverse”
    Cannibal Corpse – “Death Walking Terror”
  • Carcharodon
    Ashbringer – “Wilderness Walk”
    Caligula’s Horse – “Songs for No One”
  • Twelve
    Crescent – “Beyond the Path of Amenti”
    Winterhorde – “They Came With Eyes of Fire”
  • Emya
    Amiensus – “I Am”
    Rainbowdragoneyes – “Heavy Weather: the Storm Ov the Undead”

Show 1 footnote

  1. Not to mention the day he finally drops a Judas Priest homage called Rogga Rolla
« »