Angry Metal Primer – Ulver

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So whenever the fancy strikes us, we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

Ulver must be one of the best examples of musical metamorphosis which exists. There are other metal bands that have changed significantly across their discographies but none which have razed things to the ground so many times over. Black metal, acoustic folk, industrial, electronica, avant-garde, classical, drone, synthwave, pop. All have featured across 11 full-length albums, five EPs, three soundtracks, and various ancillary releases that have filled the past 25 years. A 12th full-length is shortly to follow so we shall see where their whimsy takes us in 2020.

A common theme across them all is a habit of releasing albums, and not just songs. Picking out a Primer playlist was tough as all of my favorite releases are sprawling, subtle, and tough to pull apart for particular moments. So what follows is less a highlight reel and more of a taster to introduce you to the myriad styles which tug at the hearts of Kristoffer Rygg and his merry band of multi-instrumentalists, producers, orchestras, computers, and kitchen sinks.”

El Cuervo

  • Bergtatt – Et Eeventyr i 5 Capitler (1995)
    – “Capitel I: I Troldskog faren vild”
    – “Capitel V: Bergtatt – ind i Fjeldkamrene”
  • Kveldssanger (1996)
    – “Østenfor Sol og vestenfor Maane”
    – “Kledt i Nattens Farger”
  • Nattens Madrigal – Aatte Hymne til Ulven i Manden (1997)
    – “I”
    – “IV”
  • Perdition City (2000)
    – “Hallways of Always”
    – “Catalept”
  • Shadows of the Sun (2007)
    – “Eos”
    – “Let the Children Go”
  • Messe I.X-VI.X (2013)
    – “As Syrians Pour In, Lebanon Grapples with Ghosts of a Bloody Past”
    – “Son of Man”
  • Terrestrials (collaboration with Sunn O)))) (2014)
    – “Eternal Return”
  • The Assassination of Julius Caesar (2017)
    – “Nemoralia”
    – “Transverberation”
  • Sic Transit Gloria Mundi EP (2017)
    – “The Power of Love”

Ulver‘s 16th album Flowers of Evil will be released on August 28th worldwide via House of Mythology.

« »