Angry Metal Primer – Firewind

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So each week (as required and/or able), we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

Firewind is the primary vehicle by which Greek guitar god Gus G. (AKA Kostas Karamitroudis) showcases his mastery of all things six-string. Gus was a hired gun on the early Dream Evil and Mystic Prophecy albums and he’s faithfully served as Ozzy Osbourne’s axecutioner since 2010, but whenever time permits he returns to his safe home of Firewind to record platters of traditional/power metal bedazzled with fiery fretboard excesses. Like any band that exists to serve one man’s every whim, Firewind suffers from a tumultuous line up with singers coming and going in Yngwie-esque revolving door fashion. Through it all Gus somehow manages to keep his material above water with his writing prowess, showmanship, and unmistakable flair. The upcoming self-titled album will be Firewind’s ninth and features the ever-reliable Herbie Langhans (Avantasia, ex-Sinbreed, ex-Seventh Avenue) on vocals. Let’s hope the Gus & Herbie Show packs some true Greek fire.”

– Steel Druhm

  • Between Heaven and Hell (2002)
    – “Between Heaven and Hell”
    – “Warrior”
    – “I Will Fight Alone”
  • Burning Earth (2003)
    – “Steal Them Blind”
    – “I Am the Anger”
  • Forged by Fire (2005)
    – “Kill to Live”
    – “Tyranny”
  • Allegiance (2006)
    – “Allegiance”
    – “Falling to Pieces”
    – “Breaking the Silence”
  • The Premonition (2008)
    – “Into the Fire”
    – “Head Up High”
    – “Angels Forgive Me”
  • Days of Defiance (2010)
    – “The Ark of Lies”
    – “Cold As Ice”
  • Few Against Many (2012)
    – “Wall of Sound”
    – “Glorious”
  • Immortals (2017)
    – “Hands of Time”
    – “Ode to Leonidas”
    – “Live and Die By the Sword”

Firewind’s ninth album Firewind will be released on May 15th worldwide via AFM Records.

« »