Angry Metal Primer – Riverside

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So whenever the fancy strikes us, we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

Since the early 2000s Poland’s Riverside has drifted down the progressive metal and rock path with an understated attitude despite their generally well-regarded output. Their lyric and atmosphere-driven style—heavily influenced by prog rock titans Marillion and mirroring the modern rock metamorphosis of an act like Porcupine Tree—falls more in camp with angst and melancholy of Scandinavian acts like Pain of Salvation or Wolverine than it ever did with more flashy progressive acts. And, naturally, this folk-kissed sadboi progstravagance, since 2009’s commendable Anno Domini High Definition, has graced the halls of AMG with frequently high marks appearances in some form across writer’s lists.

Here in 2023, Riverside stand firmly in their own sound, defined increasingly by the soft, warbling croon with occasional gruff explosions brought forth by Mariusz Duda, who has also released both gentler and more experimental work under his own name and under Lunatic Soul. While tragedy struck the band back in 2016 when founding member and guitarist Piotr Grudziński suddenly passed away, they proved with 2018’s darker assembly Wasteland that the strength of their compositions without Grudziński’s trademark Floyd-ian leads could stand in their own unique way. Now, continuing to progress in the truest sense of the word, Riverside hope to find their footing in this new decade with a brighter, bolder, yet still familiar sound. Familiar with what you might ask? Well, that’s why we have a playlist! Tune in and drift away.

Dolphin Whisperer

  • Out of Myself (2003)
    – “Loose Heart”
    – “The Curtain Falls”
  • Second Life Syndrome (2005)
    – “Conceiving You”
    – “Artificial Smile”
    – “Second Life Syndrome”
  • Rapid Eye Movement (2007)
    – “O2 Panic Room”
    – “Through the Other Side”
  • Anno Domini High Definition (2009)
    – “Left Out”
  • Shrine of New Generation Slaves (2013)
    – “Celebrity Touch”
    – “Deprived (Irretrievably Lost Imagination)”
  • Love, Fear and the Time Machine (2015)
    – “Discard Your Fear”
    – “Time Travellers”
  • Wasteland (2018)
    – “Vale of Tears”
    – “The Night Before”

Riverside‘s eigth full-length album ID.entity will be released on January 20th worldwide via InsideOut Music

« »