Angry Metal Primer – Sonata Arctica

Over 40 years of metal’s biological urge (and a hefty lack of restraint) has resulted in some incomprehensibly large catalogs. No one should have to listen to anywhere from 13 to 15 [Luca Turilli’s] Rhapsody [of Fire] albums just to get caught up for a new release. So each week (as required and/or able), we’re offering a selection of prime(r)(er) cuts to get you up to speed. Without further ado, welcome to…

Sonata Arctica. Oh yes, Sonata Arctica. It turns out that if you’re going through all the bands I love and return to with a frequency that many in the metal scene would say isn’t deserved, these Finnish power/proggers would be right at the top of it. I love their older stuff dearly and I have enjoyed bits and pieces (and sometimes whole albums) of their later material as well. But I am nothing if not an expert. Unfortunately, the band’s most classic material is not actually on streaming sites due to, what I can only assume, is a conflict over the rights. This means that two of their three classic records aren’t included. And one is only included in a re-recorded version. Still, there’s a lot to love here. So let’s prime!”

Angry Metal Guy

  • Sonata Arctica, Ecliptica, 1999 (15th Anniversary Edition, 2014)
    – “UnOpened”
    – “Letter to Dana”
    – “Fullmoon”
  • Reckoning Night, 2004
    – “Ain’t Your Fairytale”
    – “The Boy Who Wanted to Be a Real Puppet”
    – “Don’t Say a Word”
  • Unia, 2007
    – “Paid in Full”
    – “It Won’t Fade”
  • The Days of Grays, 2009
    – “Juliet”
    – “Deathaura”
  • Stones Grow Her Name, 2012
    – “I Have a Right”
    – “Don’t Be Mean”
  • Pariah’s Child, 2014
    – “What Did You Do in the War, Dad?”
    – “The Wolves Die Young”
  • The Ninth Hour, 2016
    – “We Are What We Are”
    – “Life”

Sonata Arctica‘s 10th album Talviyö will be released on September 6th worldwide via Nuclear Blast.

We’re all about equality at AMG Inc. Our legal department says we have to be, and it keeps the bowels of this place running smoothly. One person gets a playlist, then everyone wants a one, and soon there’s blood in the water cooler. So have it your way, animals. Everyone gets a playlist. An oh so brief playlist. Trust me, it’s for the best.

Today’s chapter: Earwvrms

  • Steel Druhm
    Sentenced – “Cross My Heart and Hope to Die”
    The Upper Crust – “A Friend of a Friend of the Working Class”
  • Dr. Wvrm
    They Might Be Giants – “Doctor Worm”
    Jonathan Coulton – “Ikea”
  • Dr. Wvrm
    Amorphis – “House of Sleep”
    Mongol – “To the Wind”
  • Sentynel
    Eluveite – “Inis Mona”
    Parry Gripp – “Baby Monkey (Going Backwards on a Pig)”
  • Grymm
    Haze Mage – “Bong Witch”
    Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock – “It Takes Two”
  • Mark Z.
    Kryptos – “Mach Speed Running”
    Funeral for a Friend – “Juneau”
  • L. Saunders
    Clutch – “Promoter of Earthbound Causes”
    Eleven – “Seasick of You”
  • Huck N Roll
    Fair to Midland – “Coppertank Island”
    Devin Townsend Project – “Bend It Like Bender!”
  • Ferrous Beuller
    Cannibal Corpse – “Kill or Become”
    Amorphis – “The Smoke”
  • GardensTale
    Gloryhammer – “Universe on Fire”
    Noumena – “Hate Song”
  • Master of Muppets
    Drake, Lil Wayne, Jeezy – “I’m Goin In”
    Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – “Thrift Shop”
  • TheKenWord
    Tardigrade Inferno – “Mastermind”
    Eastern High – “Bottled Insanity”
  • Cherd
    Slim Cessna’s Auto Club – “Children of the Lord”
    They Might Be Giants – “Birdhouse in Your Soul”
  • Holdeneye
    Nightwish – “Amaranth”
    Kamelot – “Torn”
  • Carcharodon
    Deathwhite – “The Grace of the Dark”
    Lacuna Coil – “Heaven’s a Lie”
  • Twelve
    Æther Realm – “The Tower”
    Mob Rules – “Sinister Light”
  • Emya
    Xoth – “Tentacles of Terror”
    Laurie Anderson – “O Superman”

« »