EpicaDesign Your Universe
Rating: 3.5/5.0 —Seriously enjoyable, but not exactly high art
Label: Nuclear Blast (EU | USA)
Website(s): epica.nl | myspace.com/epica
Release Dates: EU: 16.10.2009 | US: 11.03.2009

Epica - Design Your UniverseEpica is a symphonic power metal/gothic metal band from the Netherlands that has really taken the scene and the world by storm since their founding in 2002 due to the amazing voice of their mezzo-soprano vocalist (who also happens to be a hotty, there are no coincidences in metal) Simone Simons and the epic *cough* nature of their music. Design Your Universe is the band’s fifth album, and honestly, the first one I’ve ever sat through assuming the band would be like a mix of old Theatre of Tragedy and Nightwish.

So, I guess the best way to describe Epica is as a mix of old Theatre of Tragedy and Nightwish.  Every track on this album is heavily orchestrated, bombastic and saturated with huge choirs and vocals.  The music is pretty much your standard orchestrated female-fronted metal, except a bit heavier due to the death metal side of the band, which is definitely a welcome change from a lot of these bands that seem to be afraid to actually have anything heavy in their music.

No, Epica is not afraid of much of anything.  It’s almost as though they don’t have any shame or self-insight.  There’s no one in that studio going “do you think this is too much?”  No, this record is pretty much a balls-to-the-wall, over-the-top example of what you can do if you have 256 tracks on every song!  And honestly, it’s pretty good for a few reasons.  Let’s take the most obvious (and red-headed) aspect of the band to focus on first: the vocals.  Often a make-or-break aspect of modern power metal and symphonic metal bands, Simone Simons is definitely a serious talent.  Able, unlike other divas, to wander between poppy sounding smooth vocals and operatics, Simone pretty much wanders the range throughout the album delivering her parts with a sincerity and force that few other vocalists can muster.  In a lot of ways, she really carries this album.  While the music is pretty interesting, it is her vocals and melodies that draw me back to the album time and again.

On the other hand, there are some pretty cheesy lyrics on this thing and vocal approaches as well.  On the 13 minute Kingdom of Heaven, even God shows up to scream at someone “NO! You must continue!”  I’m surprised these guys didn’t call in Fabio from Rhapsody of Fire to cheese it up a little bit more for them.  Yes, it’s that bad.  But aside from a few moments like that, and Epica2010jsome lyrics that completely lack subtlety (including a rant about martyrdom at one point), I really enjoyed the vocal approach, which honestly goes hand-in-hand with the excellent musical approach. (Also, for you die-hard Sonata Arctica fans, keep your … ears out for Tony Kakko the track White Waters, where he croons a duet with Simone.)

Part of the melodramatic aspect of Epica means that Design Your Universe has a penchant for hugeness that I just can’t resist.  Sure, they try to convince the listener of their extreme existentialism in any way they can, but at the same time they deliver sickly sweet melodies vocally (and sometimes on the guitar, or in the orchestra) and then they layer the hell out of it!  Some people don’t like this, but this approach has always appealed to me.  Sure, bands can go overboard with it, but for whatever reason one just accepts that Epica can’t do without it. Of course, this approach also lends itself to a much more dynamic approach to music, which allows the band to go into softer, more subtle pieces well.  In a word, they’re … epic.

Design Your Universe picks up where Lost Horizon left off with it’s theme (“I SEE THE WORLD THROUGH MY FATELESS EYES!!!”), but it is deftly executed and will definitely appeal to the fan of symphonic metal.  Those of you who don’t like chick-fronted bands might find some things you like in here with the death metal stuff, but all-in-all, this band is definitely for the fans of Therion, Trail of Tears, Leaves’ Eyes and so forth.  But honestly, since Nightwish‘s masterpiece Once, this is easily the best symphonic female-fronted band I’ve heard.  But take that for what it is.

Share →
  • Pingback: Epica - Design Your Universe Review | Angry Metal Guy Reviews Robot()

  • duraganyolcu

    An excellent review. Yeah, although I’m not used to Symphonic Metal much, I found myself listening this album all day long.

  • Death Metal Convert

    I have always HATED female fronted bands, they sounded weak and far too strained for me.

    EPICA, changes this, they really cut loose sometimes and it is what a band with a beautiful female voice needs, Heaven and Hell, etc.

    Most beauty and the beast bands miss this part, they don’t let go and rage ever.

    Epica has found a perfect balance for me, I love it!!

  • kudos

    This album is insanely amazing.

    ive literally listened to this cd beyond burn out, and yet i can keep coming back to it and it has the same punch as when i first heard it.

    to put it into perspective, the title track was amazing, and for me thats like the 3rd or 4th best song on the track.

    “Once” and “After forever” were the last albums to take me like this (great company indeed)

  • dave

    this their best album yet in my opinion, althought it was alot heavier i enjoyed it just as much as their other albums, they’re all different so u cant compare! by the way kingdom of heaven is a GOLD MINE, ive listened to it like 100 times and i still feel like its the first time everytime. i hear new things i had not heard in the previous time! its amazing!

    sorry for my bad english

  • dave

    definetly 5* by the way!!! its th perfect album

  • fasdfas

    this is their best album… in terms of musicality, everything was done perfectly… the guitar solo is in different level (did they change their guitarist?)…

    comparing this album to their previous albums, they set the bar very high on this album…

    1. “Resign to Surrender ~ A New Age Dawns – part IV ~” – this is a nice song… i like this track… very neo-classical metal sound…
    2. Unleashed – the best song of the album
    3. “Martyr of the Free Word” – I like Simone’s voice here and guitar shred
    4. “Our Destiny” – I like Simone’s voice here as well
    5. “Kingdom of Heaven ~ A New Age Dawns – Part V~” – very good composition… I like the part around 9:00 where Simone’s voice is so sexy hehehe… the guitar solo is so effin good…
    6. “Burn to a Cinder” – this is a nice song as well
    7. “Tides of Time” – this is the song where Simone Simon’s voice shines a lot… very powerful voice and possesses a voice of a diva… I also watched they performed this live on youtube and Simone’s voice is really amazing.
    8. “Deconstruct” – I don’t listen to this song that much :)
    9. “Semblance of Liberty” – I don’t listen to this song that much :)
    10. “White Waters” – very peaceful song…
    11. “Design Your Universe ~ A New Age Dawns – part VI ~” – this is my 2nd favorite song in this album

    I will rate it 9.5/10.0

  • I’m listening to this album over and over.  It’s just great.  Unleashed was my first favorite song, but now it’s Kingdom of Heaven.

    For the future, I would appreciate if they resist the urge to insert American politics into their works.  I’m American, and I just don’t want to hear any of that from outside observers.

    • Zadion

      Couldn’t agree more with that.

  • Zadion

    Haven’t heard this album yet (nor much of anything by Epica), but there’s just one thing I wanted to ask….
    ” But honestly, since Nightwish‘s masterpiece Once,”
    I’m pretty sure you said somewhere that you only liked something around 4 songs off of Once?